At least I’m not getting shot…

Daniel was an armored truck driver who would pick up bags of cash from businesses.

I picked up Daniel, a confident young man in his mid-20’s who mentioned he was between jobs and enjoying life at the moment. Unlike others who felt the need to constantly look for work between gigs, he had saved up money from his last job in San Francisco, which he quit to move to LA.

What was he doing previously that was so lucrative?  Daniel was an armored truck driver who would pick up bags of cash from businesses. He said it was a fun gig that paid so well he didn’t have to work while he was applying for the LA Sheriff’s academy.

armoredtruck

“But isn’t that (the armored truck driver job) dangerous?”

“Yeah, while I was working there, another guard was shot while another had two guys come after him with an AK47 and an AR15.”

“Yikes!  Do you even wear a bulletproof vest?”

“We’re supposed to, but it only stops something like a .45. Anything bigger and you’re dead, ya know?  I’d rather be unencumbered if I’m going down…”

In Lyft driver’s groups on Facebook, I see fellow drivers complain about work conditions in this job, but I’m just thankful I don’t have a bullseye on my back and guys with AR15’s coming to kill me. Give me a drunk passenger at 2am any day!

Author: doyouevenlyftbro

I'm a rideshare driver for Lyft collecting adventures and stories throughout my daily travels.

Leave a Reply

